Gaglio • Vector

Our institution

The people of Nice know all about our past.

They know that, before it became a brasserie, Gaglio was a jewellery store. THE jewellery store in Nice. From that time, it has kept its yellow facade and its name, inscribed in letters of bronze. Its aged parquet floors and cement tiles also date back to its origins.

Gaglio • À propos
Gaglio • Détails Univers
Gaglio • Présentation

Today, Gaglio is THE brasserie at the entrance to the Old Town of Nice. From its terrace, clients enjoy the atmosphere with, on market days, fishermen who set up their stalls on Place Saint-François and seagulls keeping a watchful eye on their slightest gestures. Also close by, the Promenade du Paillon, a "coulée verte" or parkway, popular for strolls among families, retirees and tourists.

8 a.m., breakfast time. It can be a simple coffee before heading off to work, or much heartier, with a hot drink, fruit juice, slices of fresh bread, Viennese pastries and homemade pancakes.

After wandering through the shopping streets in the Old Town, return for a restful break at some point in the morning. On the terrace or inside, Le Gaglio is a window open to the neighbourhood's authentic liveliness.

At lunchtime, the brasserie presents its menu listing the absolutes musts "from here", as the locals would say. Made on the premises, fresh and seasonal produce, and recipes brimming with sunshine, all about sharing and fun. Each dish tells us about Nice, its fruit and vegetable markets, its hills with their olive-groves and vineyards, but also the Mediterranean, scoured by local fishermen in their brightly coloured "pointu" boats.

We take a little trip to the Isle of Beauty with "penne" in Parmesan cream and Corsican "lonzu".

We let ourselves be tempted by great classics of traditional brasseries : "sole meunière" and roast farm-raised chicken with puree, because they remind us of our childhood, or pan-fried pepper steak, and beef tartare with French fries.

The wine-list is entrusted to Stéphane, who is keen to share his passion. With him, we learn that this rosé is made from grapes that grow nearby, that this white wine comes from Corsica's hillsides, and that red wine is produced by a vintner committed to sustainable cultivation.

Gaglio • Maisondemarie 06 2021 jmnobile 4063
Gaglio • Détails

A tea-time worthy of the name means tea or hot chocolate and a few treats : Viennese or other pastries, cakes, waffles, pancakes. In fine weather, they are enjoyed, solo or shared, on the terrace ; in winter, this moment of bliss stolen from a busy day is a treat relished in the warm.

Nice hardly ever sleeps. Gaglio neither !

6 p.m., time for "befores", cocktails with colleagues and friends or the family, at get-togethers preceding dinner.

Everyone lets go, joins in conversations. Dinner lasts forever, everyone makes the most of every second.

The brasserie Gaglio is part of the life of the people of Nice. For more than 10 years, it has been the address one shares. It is also a photo-souvenir of wonderful holidays on the Côte d’Azur, an embodiment of Nice's delightful lifestyle.



Gaglio • Détails

Locate us

2 Place Saint-François, 06300 Nice

04 93 85 42 13

Open everyday from 8:30 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.

We are here Gaglio • Nous situer

Gaglio • Vector

Notre Institution

Les Niçois connaissent son histoire.

Ils savent qu’avant de devenir une brasserie, Gaglio était une bijouterie. « La » bijouterie de Nice. De cette époque, elle a gardé sa façade jaune et son nom, inscrit en lettres de bronze. Son parquet vieilli et ses carreaux de ciment sont aussi d’origine.

Gaglio • À propos
Gaglio • Détails Univers
Gaglio • Présentation

Aujourd’hui, Gaglio c’est « la » brasserie aux portes du Vieux Nice. Depuis sa terrasse, on profite de l’ambiance, avec, les jours de marché, les pêcheurs qui installent leurs étals sur la place Saint-François et les mouettes qui surveillent d’un œil attentif le moindre de leurs gestes. Toute proche aussi, la promenade du Paillon, « coulée verte » fréquentée par les familles, les retraités et les touristes.

8h00, l’heure du petit-déjeuner. Il se résume à un simple café avant d’aller travailler, ou se montre plus consistant, avec une boisson chaude, un jus de fruit, des tartines de pain frais, des viennoiseries et des pancakes faits maison.

Pour peu que l’on flâne dans les ruelles commerçantes du Vieux-Nice, on revient faire une pause, dans la matinée. En terrasse comme à l’intérieur le Gaglio reste une fenêtre largement ouverte sur la vie animée et authentique du quartier.

À l’heure du déjeuner, la brasserie dévoile sa carte où s’inscrivent les incontournables d’aqui, comme disent les Niçois. Du fait maison, des produits frais et de saison et des recettes qui parlent de soleil, de partage et de convivialité. Chacun de ces plats raconte Nice et ses marchés aux fruits et aux légumes, ses collines avec leurs oliveraies et leurs vignobles, mais aussi la Méditerranée, que les pêcheurs locaux sillonnent avec leurs pointus aux couleurs vives.

On fait une petite incursion sur l’île de Beauté avec les penne à la crème de parmesan et lonzu.

On se laisse tenter par les grands classiques de la brasserie traditionnelle : la sole meunière et le poulet fermier rôti, purée parce qu’ils nous rappellent l’enfance, ou le steak au poivre au sautoir et le tartare de bœuf frites.

La carte des vins, c’est le domaine de Stéphane. Il sait faire partager sa passion. Avec lui, on apprend que ce rosé est fabriqué à partir d’un raisin qui murit près d’ici, que ce blanc trouve son origine sur les coteaux Corses, que ce rouge est produit par un viticulteur qui privilégie la culture raisonnée.

Gaglio • Maisondemarie 06 2021 jmnobile 4063
Gaglio • Détails

Un goûter digne de ce nom, c’est un thé ou un chocolat chaud et quelques douceurs : des pâtisseries, des viennoiseries, des crêpes, des gaufres et des pancakes. Aux beaux jours, on les déguste en solo ou on les partage en terrasse ; en hiver, c’est bien au chaud qu’on s’offre ce moment de bonheur volé à une journée bien remplie.

Nice ne dort presque jamais. Gaglio non plus !

18h00, l’heure des before, des apéros entre collègues et amis ou en famille, des retrouvailles précédant les dîners.

On se détend, on discute. Le dîner s’éternise, chacun profite de l’instant.

La brasserie Gaglio fait partie de la vie des niçois. Depuis plus de dix ans, elle est cette adresse que l’on partage. Elle est aussi la photo souvenir de vacances réussies sur la Côte d’Azur, l’incarnation de ce bien-vivre à Nice.

Gaglio • Détails

Nous situer

2 Place Saint-François, 06300 Nice

04 93 85 42 13

Du lundi au samedi de 8h30 à 23h00

Nous sommes ici Gaglio • Nous situer